The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 106

User Info Menu

I have an interesting option available to me regarding a new guitar. Briefly

• I am a classical guitar/fingerstyle guitarist of moderate ability
    • All my playing is on a pretty good (but not a Robert Ruck) Jesus Marzal classical and/or a amplified ES-175D
    • While I play some jazz arrangements, I do not improvise (beyond tweaking existing arrangements)
    • I don't own a pick (that I can find)
    • I play strictly solo stuff - no Band in a Box/etc (at least for now)
    • My playing is split probably 70% classical guitar and the rest on the Gibson through a modeling amp. My repertoire is split kind of 50/50 (where some pieces play fine on both)
    • When I am doing exercises and working on technique it tends to be on the classical

My problem is both GAS and the fact that a good bit of my repertoire can only be played through an amplifier (the ES-175D just is not an acoustic instrument). Some of my blues stuff and jazz arrangements just don't render well on nylon strings - complicated by the fact that notes above the 12th fret are somewhat problematic.

The deal that I have with my wife is fair (and complicated) but the net is I have $2500 to spend on a new archtop (with acoustic playability) if I choose. I would be keeping the ES-175D. And BTW adding $2500 to the trade-in and/or personal sale value of the ES-175D for something like a used L5/whatever is not an option as part of the deal is that the ES-175D becomes 'wall art' (that I can easily access for playing when I choose). See attached pic ...