The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

I've got a no-frills ES 335 that I've been playing off and on for about 8 years. It inspired me to by some fake books and dive into the jazz harmonic vocabulary. I love the tone and the versatility. Four years ago I upgraded to Lollar Imperials and that also expanded the tonal range of the instrument. Here's my issue... the guitar just doesn't sit well in my lap. It keeps moving on me... not a huge problem, but it's become more annoying lately. My attention was drawn to the CS 336 as I was watching a Jon Herington interview on YouTube. What are your thoughts about going from a 335 to a 336? I know it's smaller and solid, not laminate - but how about ergonomics and tone. I do have a nice Heritage Eagle so I've got that area covered.

Is it worth considering trading/selling my 335?

I would be grateful for your thoughts.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

What do you mean by it not sitting well and moving? Neck heavy? Lower body heavy? Or is it sliding away from you toward your knee?
    Last edited by Woody Sound; 12-23-2016 at 12:25 PM.

User Info Menu

Lower body heavy... neck keeps lifting on me and I have to reposition the guitar as I play. Sorry for the lack of clarity in my original post.

User Info Menu

Use a strap.

Problem solved.

HTH,

User Info Menu

Okay... I should have been able to figure that one out for myself. Nothing like posting on a forum to gain some humility.

That part set aside... does anyone have experience playing a cs 336 that would like to share. Thanks!

User Info Menu

Here ya go, tailor made for you!

FDP - Forum

User Info Menu

Thanks Woody! That IS helpful.

User Info Menu