The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 34 of 34

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Bezoeker
    Indeed, and I do not mean to crap on the idea of posting the vid. Great point to trust the ears and not blindly follow the tuner.

I just wish MT had not name-dropped terms very very inaccurately.
    No worries matey.

I have had long conversations about tuning with me mate Bill, the piano restorer. It made my brain hurt.

But his knowledge on wood glue is an education!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Dom, the guitar being a temperate tuned instrument it is never going to be perfectly in tune all over the board, I usually intonate the top and bottom E at the 12 fret to get the bridge positioned and start from there that will get you in the ballpark then check the other strings and balance them the best you can. Back in the '60s when I started playing the intonation on a lot of electric guitars Strats etc was rubbish I used to balance the intonation from the 19 fret all down the fretboard which meant most of the strings were very slightly flat, it is a quirk of the human hearing that it can tolerate a slightly flat note but not a sharp one, if you have perfect pitch which I no longer have sharp notes can be extremely irritating.

User Info Menu

I try to play fast enough so the audience can't hear the beats :0

Saddle placement is always a compromize and I don't get to bent out of shape over it, because without a compensated nut any saddle setup is just an approximation.

If I'm setting up a guitar with a straight saddle, I use flatwound set with flatwound third string. These tend to intonate ok in a straight line. If I'm setting up a guitar with roundwounds and a non-wound third, I perfer some kind of tune-o-matic. Frequently with the third string saddle reversed from the others to get enough range between the high E and the G as those two can be pretty far apart.