The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Greetings All, First, let me say i'm new here and initially i'm overwhelmed by the vast amount of expertise across the board that i've found in the last couple of days on this website. That said, i hope to draw on that statement.

i've been playing on and off for a good many years, a "ham and egger" if you will. lol. Will be retiring in the next several months which hopefully will allow a good deal of practice time, provided my arthritic hands don't object too much. i currently own a Gibson Super 400 CES in sunburst, circa 1976(18" bout and 25-1/2 " scale) that is becoming difficult for me to play. By contrast, my ES335's 16" bout and 24-3/4" scale seem much more comfortable. i still want to play an arch top, so i've been researching the web for a "replacement". One guitar that has caught my eye is the Eastman AR803CE-16. It has a 16" bout and 25" scale length. Anyone here familiar with this guitar?? i don't want to spend a lot of money right now (2K seems reasonable), as i'll primarily just be playing for my own satisfaction. Not to say however that it won't leave the house. Primary "gigs" would be at church or local j.c. community jazz band.

Thanks in advance and looking forward to any/all comments and suggestions.

Merry Christmas,

Bob P.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You could probably find a used Heritage H575 for around $2K. Top shelf performance in a 16" archtop. I recently found an H575 Custom in MINT condition for $1900. This was the deal of the century and I am thrilled with it.

I also own a Peerless Monarch 16 which represents an outstanding value @ $1400. Check out the Monarch 16 at Guitars 'n Jazz - 400 Archtops in stock - choose don't settle.

I believe that you would be very happy with either.