The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

I'm a noob when it comes to Guild, but I'm getting really interested in them. From being a member on this site, I see occasional posts about the Artist Award (of course), X-500, and X-150. But, I'm seeing there are so many models out.

I just picked up a 1964 Guild CA-100. Solid spruce top, laminate maple sides, 24.75" scale, DeArmond 1100 pickup, florentine cutaway, rosewood (Brazilian?) fingerboard. Should be here next week. My first Guild.

Anybody else here have a rare, vintage Guild?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Good find! That's definitely a rarer old Guild. Not too many of those floating around. I have a 1961 T-100 BDP that I love. Guild started out a jazz guitar company in NY but they don't get mentioned too much around here. Great old guitars that you can still afford!

User Info Menu

yes vintage guilds are still among the best deals out there...i see some great guitars being sold at comparatively low prices...also the new cordoba line of guilds is great bang for the buck..a venerable old name

cheers

ps- obv. # on back of headstock is a ss#...
    Last edited by neatomic; 12-03-2015 at 07:41 PM.

User Info Menu

I used to own a CE-100 it was a great jazz guitar.

Quote Originally Posted by neatomic
    yes vintage guilds are still among the best deals out there...i see some great guitars being sold at comparatively low prices...also the new cordoba line of guilds is great bang for the buck..a venerable old name

cheers

A whole new world has been opened to me...I'm thinking I might have to try out their old acoustics.

I feel like a lot of Gibson is paying for a name (I love Gibson).

I always find it funny people back in the day scratching their SS in their gear. It was a different world and identity theft wasn't a huge deal.

User Info Menu