The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 311

User Info Menu

Im new to archtops, and I've been searching for what I want. Ill probably get an Eastman Ar371 or Ar503 because under $1000 fits my budget, but during my search I've noticed drastic prices ranges. Is a $4800 ES175 really that much better than an Eastman manufactured in Asia? Is a $20,000 Benedetto that much better? I realize this is hard to quantify, but what are your opinions on this?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

here we go again, the age old question. usually brought up to make someone feel better about buying an affordable house/car/boat/cappuccino machine/guitar/whatever.

here's a link to generic value/price curve.

so to your question - there's nothing wrong with buying an affordable archtop if it's made well, has good materials, and plays well. also, it's not a bad idea to get one if it's your first entry into the market segment.

one thing to keep in mind, the difference between a fine archtop guitar and something like a car is that a fine guitar can theoretically last for centuries, like a fine violin. in that case, a highly prized make/model is important. we all know what they are...

User Info Menu

Ya, so it was a real question. I really want to know what differences experienced guys notice. I have no problem spending $1000. I didn't realize this question was asked all tge time. But thanks for the smart azz reply

User Info Menu

Why are you concerned at all with the issue? Find something you like to play, WANT to play, DO play and ignore the sticker price.

If an Eastman fits your budget and you play it well the price of the ES-175 (or other BETTER guitar) sitting next to it on the pegboard is irrelevant unless the BETTER guitar plays, and sounds like you want it to, then I suggest you get a payment plan or, like I did when I got a guitar once... a second job to pay for it :-)

User Info Menu