The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hello all! I'm new to the forum, I've just registered a couple of minutes ago. I've been reading posts and lessons for quite a long time though...

I'm a passionate Jazz student and I have a Gibson Les Paul but now I'd like to get myself an archtop to play just Jazz. I've found some nice guitars, but I don't know exactly which is the best.
    I've seen some pretty Peerless; I like the Gigmaster Jazz, the Jazz City and the Monarch. My main concern about the last one is that it has no tone knob...
    I've read some nice reviews of the Eastman AR371, which is the cheapest among the archtops I can afford.
    Then a few days ago I read about the D'Angelico EXL-1. This is he one I like the most, but it is also de most expensive.

The question is: for you guys, what's the best archtop for about 1300 euros?

And also: is the D'angelico worth the extra money it costs?

Thank you very much.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Jazz City and the Monarch

User Info Menu

I really like my Peerless Monarch. I don't notice any issue not having a tone adjustment on the guitar...

I tried the Eastman AR371, this weekend. Really nice feel and tone. A bit smaller than my Monarch (and different top wood) so the acoustic voice is smaller but a nice sounding/playing instrument for the money.

User Info Menu

I haven't played the Eastman 371 but I see the nut width is 1 3/4" as opposed to 1 11/16", and the body is 16" wide, persuasive points for me, I have large hands and also find 17" guitars too big.
    The Peerless are good value, and very popular, a friend has a Monarch which he is now finding a bit large at 17", but its a personal preference thing.

The new D'Angelicos look like very good value, but not actually seen one yet, this side of the pond.