The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 94

User Info Menu

All I ask is that you tell me whether this level of string buzz is "normal" and "acceptable" in a GOOD solid-body guitar. Keep in mind that I put the guitar in a very good shop (shipped it there) to have this fixed. Before they shipped it back, they'd also done some really nice fret work, upgraded wiring, jack, etc. - to the tune of $400+.

When I sent it back and complained that it still buzzed, I was told that it plays "...BETTER than the $6000 PRS/Gibson models..." they have in their store. It came back exactly as I had shipped it.

I've already raised the action & tweaked the truss rod as much as I'm going to.

Is it me? I have little experience playing solid-body guitars, but can set them up when my vision isn't screwy, as it is right now.

It's a string buzz, for goodness sake. One string.

They said maybe I was picking too hard (you tell me!) or picking with the flat of the pick (I'm don't think I am...). I really can't pick much lighter than some of these pick strokes are.

Do $6000 Gibsons play this way, as they claimed? Is this buzzing "excessive" to you? They say it's normal. I don't have the experience to say, but I hope not. What do you guys think? That's all I need, thanks kindly.

Last edited by Kojo27; 09-05-2014 at 12:36 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Sounds like very obvious fret buzz to me, and looks like you're picking lightly. Do you know anything about guitar setup, or are you 100% dependent on the shop? I'd start my diagnosis with the nut slots and neck relief. Put a capo on the first fret and see if the open strings buzz then.

User Info Menu