The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 30

User Info Menu

Hello Jazz-Community,

My name is Mace and I'm from Germany. I just started learning Jazz-Guitar, because I played my whole life "simple" Rock and Metalmusic.

Today a - for me - very, very important Person donated me my first (hollow body) "jazz-guitar" (I played in my Rockbands a Les Paul, SG, etc). But its also a very, very, very cheap guitar, to be honest. Like I said the person means much to me and I will make these cheap Guitar a Guitar which I will play all my life.

First of all, I think I need new jazz guitar pickups and strings.

Do you know good Jazz-Pickups for a hollow body guitar? Is it right, that most Jazzplayer use the neck pick up?

The Strings on the Guitar are very small (0.09 - ?), can you give me a hint, what Strings are good for a Jazz-Guitar?

Thank you very, very much for your help!

Merry X-Mas and happy holidays,
    Mace

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

hey mace,

i'm not an expert on anything jazz but i thought i might as well give some input, might even help you a bit.

Buy Seymour Duncan SH-2N Jazz Model Pickup | Humbucker Pickups | Musician's Friend

that pickup has great reviews and it doesn't seem to be too expensive (in my opinion. i don't know your budget though)

Buy D'Addario EXL115 Nickel Blues/Jazz Electric Guitar Strings | .011 Gauge | Musician's Friend

and for strings, maybe these D'Addario .11s could do the trick?

just some suggestions, let's wait for the more educated players input. i just put the URL for reference, in case someone agrees with my suggestion.

Hello Gabe,

Thank you very much for your great and friendly help. Thank you!
    Yes, I read very good critics for the Seymour pick up, as an neck pick up. And the price is okay!

The Strings look also great. Thanks for your opinion!

User Info Menu