The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 66

User Info Menu

Still a newbie here... recent thread on TI strings got me thinking... anybody here NOT use a wound 3rd? Coming from a rock/blues background, bending is part of my style. Not saying I want to be bending strings all over the place in traditional jazz stuff, but I am leaning more towards the western swing side of things...

Just wondering if anybody else uses a PLAIN 3rd for bending purposes? (Or did you just learn to bend the wound 3rd?)
    [I of course have wound 3rds on my acoustics, and CAN bend them, but it ain't easy!]

Related: are flatwounds any easier/harder to bend than roundwounds (with regards to the wound 3rd)?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

In my experience, the flatwounds are easier to bend.

User Info Menu

My own experience with bending wound G-strings translates into breaking wound G strings. Even more so with flatwounds, which I have found to be very brittle at the ball end. So I don't use them for my bendy noisemaking.

For the guitars that I use when bending more than a semitone, I use unwound heavy G-strings - .18 on the light side (with .11 - .52 sets), .21 on the heavier side. Dean Markley sells .11 - .52 sets that come with an unwound .18 as well as a wound .20.

Heavier sets like .12-.52 or .13-.54 typically come with wound .26 strings. I bought a pile of unwound .21/.22/.23 strings to substitute into those sets when I feel brave.

Western swing, eh?
    Big Ball's in Cowtown!
    Last edited by Hammertone; 05-27-2012 at 07:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hammertone

Western swing, eh?
    Yeah man... "cowboy jazz".... those guys (guitar players) were every bit jazz players. Despite the presence of banjos and fiddles