The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 55

User Info Menu

That's it guys. I've been playing a Gibson ES-335 for the last 4 years and just can't get used to play the damn thing, specially standing up.

I feel that the body is too big for me, the strap feels awkward and makes the neck go away. I have tried different strap heights but nothing, I haven't found the sweet spot.
    I think one of the reasons is the double cutaway. I'm pretty sure that if the neck joined the body sooner, like on a 175, it would be a bit shorter and that would make it a bit more comfy.

I'm not tall (5'6), and it's alright for me to play sitting down but it's a total pain in the ass every time I play standing, specially on gigs, where sometimes I feel like I can't play, or that my playing level has decreased quite a lot.

So, even though I love how the guitar sounds, I'm terribly frustrated and sick of how uncomfortable and sloppy I feel when playing standing.

could you guys tell me which guitars you know that are a bit smaller than a 335 and still can get good contemporary jazz tones? (Ben Monder, Rosenwinkel, Mike Moreno...)

I only know about the gibson 339, which I didn't like when I tried it.

Thanks a million in advance.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

solidbodies, heavily chambered, can get 335-ey, although if you're content with the sound of a 335 but not 339 its probably psychosomatic - theyre the same guitar with different neck profiles afaik.

In terms of comfort, work from a chambered klein-style up - as a compromise, if i were you id try a chambered or fully hollow tele, if thats too bright maybe see if theres one with a non standard set of pickups near you. Slightly more trad would be the hollow les paul types but ive never been keen.

User Info Menu

Hmm lets see if I can help..