The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 45

User Info Menu

Hello Forum,

I've been playing classical guitar on and off for ~15 years. I decided to start practicing jazz and buy my first electric guitar
    and would like to know your advice on this. After reading through many threads I came to the conclusion that my best option on a €1000 total budget would be:

Fender Player Telecaster SS (solid body is important due to a baby at home) (€780)
    Fender Mustang LT40S (I'm not a professional, only to be used at home) (€200)
    Headphones (because of the baby at home) (€50)

I went to a shop yesterday and played on a couple of electric guitars, but I am still clueless because I only know classical. I had no idea there are so many types of amps, pickups.
    If you think these are not good choices, or you have better recommendations, please share your knowledge.

Thank you!
    Last edited by aemanon; 02-06-2024 at 08:23 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You can’t go wrong with a Telecaster in my opinion. Since you don’t have much experience with the feel of electric guitars it will be difficult to tell what type of neck feel appeals to you. Coming from the classical world a fuller vintage-y “C” shape might be a nice transition from the feel of a classical neck.

For amps I don’t know much about solid state modeling amps. I prefer tube amps and have a few of those. I suppose the ideal tone for jazz is clear and warm with maybe a touch of grit. Given the “practice at home with a baby” scenario I’d probably go for one of these:

'''68 Custom Vibro Champ(R) Reverb | Guitar Amplifiers

p.s. ah I see the headphone requirement now….at home almost 90% of my playing is done on an unplugged solid body. It is fairly quiet for the wife and former babies in the house

User Info Menu