The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 98

User Info Menu

Good morning, I just joined this forum as way to guide me through Jazz guitar and of course get some questions answered through the forum. I have been building guitars for 20 years and have been playing classical and flamenco guitar for many decades. Decided to add some jazz to my studies and find it pretty difficult. Hope to get some help through this forum.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey there. Welcome!
    Lots of advice here in this community. My own experience/advice is listen to a lot of music, with so many resources at your fingertips. Because playing jazz is so much about hearing and listening, learning to hear yourself and your playing in relation to others, the sharper and more informed your ears are, the better they'll guide your hands and ideas as you grow as a player.
    Personally I listen to the jazz programs on the streaming NY station WKCR where some of the most informative disc jockeys bring the broadest range of thoughtfully presented recordings. It's an education in itself.
    Schedule | WKCR 89.9FM NY
    Learn patiently, create a good inventory of the skillset needed (it's unique) and if possible find a mentor to keep these elements in balance as you advance as a player and lover of the music.
    Get to know your voice, get to hear yourself and your own singing voice as you learn the craft of making melody and your relationship to harmony. Learn to make a metronome your friend so you can think in, with and against the beat. Be patient and let your love for the music guide you. Listen to horn players as much as if not more than guitarists.
    Good luck and welcome.

User Info Menu