The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 45

User Info Menu

Hey all - I know it’s impossible to sound like Charlie Christian but I know it’s possible to cop that sound.

The thing is, i don’t really know the first thing about jazz!

what do you recommend for someone who wants to start studying jazz but make sure that those studies overlap with learning the type of jazz that charlie christian plays (i think it’s referred to as “early bebop”?)? besides transcribing solos (which i will do).

i greatly enjoy method books and the like, so id prefer a book method, as i like to deeply understand the theory behind what i’m playing/transcribing. if it helps, i am an advanced guitarist technique-wise. however my ability to read music is essentially none (i can read tab though).

thank you!
    Last edited by JohnStamos; 01-13-2024 at 05:50 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Transcribe Charlie Christian solos.

I don’t even care that you said “beside transcribing solos” because transcribing is the way.

Also learn to read music, it’ll help. Just start Mel Bay Modern Guitar Method Book 1 now, instead of trying to get by functionally illiterate.

You can put it off and at worst you’ll burn out and quit, at best you’ll learn to read anyway in a few years and wish you started sooner.

You don’t need to sight read, but learning to get music off the staff in some way will open a lot of doors.

Oh, now that you heard my rant… there’s a Wolf Marshall book of Charlie Christian transcriptions.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by JohnStamos
    if it helps, i am an advanced guitarist technique-wise.
    That's good, so start practising eighth notes at 200 BPM using all downstrokes.

Quote Originally Posted by AllanAllen
    Transcribe Charlie Christian solos.

I don’t even care that you said “beside transcribing solos” because transcribing is the way.