The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 75

User Info Menu

Here’s the scenario: I’m a hobbyist who has played on/off for decades. I made a commitment to finally try to play jazz. My goals are to play jazz standards and develop a real voice on the instrument. So far, I’m enjoying this journey, and I’m wondering if practicing sight reading is a worthwhile investment of time.

I’ve read plenty of posts from the pros and semi-pros on here, and fully understand the emphasis that they put on the ability to read for the scenarios in which they find themselves. No doubt that it is a big advantage to be able to read charts.

I aspire to play competent chord melody, and perhaps jam with friends on standards. I’m not going to be “on the bandstand”, and under pressure like some of you guys. I know and enjoy learning theory, understanding what I’m playing, and why.

Basically, it comes down to this: If I get the Levitt book, or sight read the Real Book melodies, how will that help me? Is it worth using practice time for that? I played trumpet when I was a kid so I’m familiar with sight reading, though I haven’t done it in decades, and never on the guitar. I guess the part that irks me about sight reading on guitar is that there are multiple places to play the same note.
    Last edited by Jazz4Four; 11-15-2023 at 07:12 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I can't answer this, but I'll share my experience as an amateur who can read better than most guitarists but worse than most...say...oboists.

Before I start, I'm going to differentiate between just being able to read music (understanding what notes on the staff mean) and being able to sight read music on the guitar (play in tempo from a sheet). Basic reading is pretty important. It sounds like you've got that from your trumpet experience.