The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi everyone, I appreciate there's another active thread about taking lessons but I felt like this question warranted it's own post.

I'm a day 0 beginner other than some very basic rock guitar / and a little bit of jazz bass as a teenager. Last year I came across Lucas Brar on youtube who does jazz arrangements of popular music on a classical guitar. It's left me feeling inspired to start learning classical (nylon string) guitar with a focus on jazz.

I'm struggling to understand what I'm looking for in a teacher, as most that I can find are either "jazz guitar" or "classical guitar" teachers. On one hand I feel like there are techniques I'll need to learn that are specific to the classical guitar, and I'm definitely not opposed to learning some actual classical music along the way. On the other hand I'd like to feel confident that the lessons I'm taking are leading me in the direction of my longer term goals like working towards being able to play some solo chord melody style jazz and, as a very long term goal, be able to work on my own arrangements.

I wondered if anyone here might have a recommendation for someone I could reach out to? I'm based in the UK but can be relatively flexible with times.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey there jtscrubzone and welcome to the community! I know where you're coming from and it's a beautiful and challenging niche that straddles jazz (which is an improvisational art) and classical (which is a composed and edited performance art).
    It would help to know what it is you want to be able to do and what your hopes, expectations and sense of commitment is in balancing the knowledge necessary.
    There is a very large spectrum of abilities and skill sets needed to play, arrange, conceptualize and create in real time.