The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

I have a question that I have seen around the forum before, but I wanted to ask again, what is the best way to go about learning scales? I mean would you suggest learning the G major scale in every position, then move on, or just learn all the scales in one position, then move on to the next position. Just wondering, because I am just getting started and it seems a bit overwhelming, and I want to go about this systematically to avoid getting frustrated. Thanks, Noah

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I admit it's been a long time since I sat down and played scales, but I had a couple of scale etude books once upon a time. Maybe you should work backwards: what do you thing are the goals to these exercises?

User Info Menu

I have my students work across the fingerboard..starting with the G scale..

Third fret on the 6th string...second finger on the G..do you know this one?

Third fret on the 5th string..second finger on the C...follow me?

Third fret on the 4th string...second finger on the F..a different pattern now...

Third fret on the 3rd string...first finger on the Bb..another pattern..

Now you have three different fingering patterns for scales...there are more as you may know...advanced students of mine learn 16 different fingering patterns of each scale..scales are where the notes are that you need to learn..

sound ok...then just take each one and move the rootnote up and down the fingerboard to different keys...

It's just one lesson I teach my students..

time on the instrument...pierre
    Last edited by pierre richard; 01-29-2010 at 11:58 PM. Reason: technical error..wrong finger placement

User Info Menu