The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 68

User Info Menu

Hi all, as the thread title states. I am looking to buy my first jazz guitar. Ive been playing and gigging for a long time, pretty much Texas swing, old country, and some 40s music. Im NOT a pro player, I cant read, and 80% self taught learning as I go along. Dad was a telecaster player so I followed his footsteps. Teles for 30 plus yrs. is all ive used. Im 67 yrs old and ive never really felt the need to buy a true jazz guitar. A few nites ago I went to see a friend of mine play. He called me on stage to sit in for a couple of songs. I used his Gibson ES 175 and I really enjoyed playing it and enjoyed myself as well. So here I am on the hunt for my first jazz guitar. At my age I don't feel the need to buy a high end guitar. Something middle of the road or a good beginners jazz guitar that might get me the joy of the 175. I know I haven't much time left so spending 2k on up really doesn't make much sense. Thank you all so much for your time and input!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

theres plenty of good cheap jazz guitars
    out there .....

I like the Ibanez AF models ....but hey
    you'll get lots of suggestions
    where you located ? it would be best to find
    a good outlet and spend a bit of time trying
    a few guitars out .....
    budget for a proper setup with fat strings

User Info Menu

Hi and welcome.Sweetwater is sealing Epiphone 175 premiums for 700.00.Never played one but it might be close to the Gibson.I am sure you will get some much wiser and more experienced responses.

User Info Menu