The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33
    Hey everyone! Really happy to join this site. I'm a guitarist with a good 20 odd years experience playing guitar. I'm mainly a metal/shred player, but now starting in learning jazz right from the basics and could really do with some guidance and help/advice. I'm really into the Jazz/Fusion style and also smooth jazz like George Benson, Norman Brown. Any advice on which jazz, jazz/fusion guitar players/artists to check out? Not just in Jazz/Fusion, Smooth Jazz style but Jazz in general.

Also any books you guys/girls could recommend for me to learn from? Also any practice tips in what to practice at this stage? At the moment I'm going through 9th, 11th and 13th chords and did some chord substitutions the other day aswell as spending a lot of time learning arpeggios so I can create a road map of arpeggios to make targetting easier when playing over changes. The Jazz Guitar Chord ebook is really good too, especially where it talks about constructing chords from scratch, so been doing some of that too.

Any advice or help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Don't abandon your chops. A lot of people are going to tell you "less is more"... in a sense, it's true, but not really. You'll need those chops to play more up tempo stuff, and to create interest. Work on your phrasing, because that's the main difference between metal and jazz. A good transition for metal guys is Allan Holdsworth. Particularly his records Sixteen Men of Tain, All Night Wrong, and None Too Soon (which actually is mostly standards and jazz tunes). A lot of jazz guys are emulating that phrasing nowadays, the whole legato thing.