The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

I'm self taught, I do have a basic understanding of theory, modes, etc. You know, all that jazz. But going over threads here, it sounds like learning how to play this music is akin to learning how to program computers, some rarefied intellectual pursuit, rather than a way to express yourself and have some fun while you're at it. Are there still good new players who get by with just a basic grasp of what they're doing, or is this a genre strictly for complete brainiacs with Phds? I try and grok all this hoo-ha about intervallic mode modulations and my eyes completely glaze over. Would Satch have fared any better?

Of course there's always trad jazz, Dixieland, that seems to have remained a bit more primal. But I really enjoy the later styles of jazz more, and as I understand it guys like Pass and Kessel didn't really grasp all the nuts and bolts of what they were doing, either. Anyway, just an observation. I play other simpler styles of music and enjoy noodling a bit at home and have been curious about this for a while now.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Anything you look at as an outsider- is hard or incomprehensible, or at least bafflingly magical. Pass and Kessel, of course knew the landscape and how to navigate it. Django too. And many people who lived contemporary with them found their music elusive.
    Jazz is a composer's art, yes you have to compose your solo, with the same consideration of harmony, melody and rhythm, pitch, dynamics and architecture that a composer does. Or not.
    If you do it, and you have fun, nobody's going to arrest you. If you have fun and it sounds limited because your grasp of the composer's tools is less than informed, you'll get strange looks and maybe a glance from a fellow forum member, but nobody's going to throw you in Jazz Jail.