The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 30

User Info Menu

Greetings!

Just wanna ask you guys who play jazz on their classical guitar, whether occasionally or all the time..

Do you use classical guitar technique to play jazz on your classical (right hand technique, left hand technique..)?

Well, I should probably ask you too.. do you NEED classical guitar technique to play jazz on a classical guitar?

Thanks
    Last edited by mck; 09-24-2014 at 07:33 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I sometimes play jazz tunes on a classical guitar.

I mostly use a right hand classical technique (taught to me by a classical guitarist).

Occasionally I play with a pick.

I think learning right hand classical technique is very beneficial.

User Info Menu

I studied classical for 3 years in college, have occasionally worked on the techniques since and still own a nylon string guitar. I keep it handy and have occasionally practiced jazz tunes on it. I have recently been working on a simple chord melody arrangement of Jobim's Corcovado (Quiet Nights). For that type of thing I apply classical right hand technique. I basically use the same right hand approach when playing a chord melody on a steel string guitar. I don't really practice much single line or improvised stuff on the nylon string. There are of course some great players who improvise single notes lines with classical right hand technique, although probably far fewer than pick (or even thumb) improvisers.