The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 184

User Info Menu

I've been playing guitar for about 11 years now, and have been fairly comfortable in rock settings playing solos of chord progressions. I've always dug the fusion playing of Howe, Govan, Kotzen, Henderson, Holdsworth, etc. especially when they step outside. As a result, I've realized that I would like to understand Jazz theory better so that I can take a jazz approach to phrasing in my improvisation; however, I'm honestly lost on where to dive in.

I know my church modes up the entire neck. Most of my experience in soloing/improvising has been to look at the chord progression (usually just triads or fifth chords; rarely stuff with 7,9,11 intervals), determine the notes in the progression, and then pick a single mode to use over that progression that contains the underling notes of the progression. My soloing will then stick to the notes in that mode, but my note centering will shift based on what underling chord is being played. Admittedly, the latter part of what notes to center on is mostly done by feel.

I plan to take some Jazz lessons next summer when some of my free time will open up, but in the interim I've got some books to dig through: Levine's Jazz Theory, the Berklee Jazz Harmony book, and Ted Greene's single note soloing. I plan to spend more time with my nose in this books, but after a skim they haven't been enlightening for me to change my approach. I'm not looking for overnight success obviously, but I feel like I'm missing some big picture approaches to jazz harmony that I haven't been able to get clarity on yet.