The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20
    So my teacher recommended I learn all the 7 patterns of the major scale to help with improvisation. I'm very bad at learning scales (I hate doing it), even before I started playing jazz I only knew 2 positions of the minor pentatonic basically, and zero positions of the major pentatonic. It's no wonder I had/have trouble improvising in a rock context. Even though I do learn a lot of stuff by ear.

So instead of learning 40,000 different scales I would rather just have a solid grasp on the major scale, from that I can derive all the arpeggios, triads, etc. So is this the first thing I should get down? Along with the arps within each of those patterns? I'm going to learn like all the great jazzers did by transcribing and copying their idols (which I have been doing), but without a solid grasp on the fingering of the major scale I don't see where all these lines lie. They look so random to me when really they are probably notes within the major scale or something of that sort.

So basically is learning the major scale all over the neck something I should really start working on? If I learn one scale for the time being it should be the major scale right? And do a lot of jazz lines especially from players like Charlie Christian, Wes, and Grant Green fall into the major scale? I would really like to see where all these lines that I'm learning by ear come from. It would probably have them make more sense and be easier to change keys.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Sure. But don't think of them as "shapes". Think of them as "sounds".

by learning the major scale all over the neck you will automatically be learning the minor scales and dominant scales as well.