The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I'm a total newbie to Jazz. I have decent knowledge of theory, but I can't read music. I recently started working through the beginning lessons in the Mickey Baker book, inspired by Rob MacKillop's videos. I just recently started playing again after a long break. I've been mostly working on arpeggios, which I continue to do. Outside of that, most of my Jazz work as been focused on Charlie Christian and his approach so I've been trying to learn some of his tunes with varying degrees of success. I like Charlie's stuff and I will continue to work on his tunes.With that ground work laid, I need some help moving forward. I like older Jazz, 1960's or earlier. So outside of the Christian stuff and the Mickey Baker book, I want to start introducing myself to the classic standards.

I have the sixth edition of The Real Book, but I don't know where or how to begin. I figured I should pick a small selection on tunes. Learn the vanilla changes (chords) and practice my arpeggios over these changes. But I'm not sure if this is a good or a bad approach?

So to summarize, I want to break my practice regime in to three parts. I'm putting off reading for now.

1. Daily work on the Mickey Baker book.
    2. Daily work on the Real Book standards, vanilla changes and chords and then arpeggios over the changes.
    3. Continue to learn leads from Charlie Christian tunes.

This is my plan and it may be terrible.If I could get a critique of this routine and any other thoughts I would appreciate it.

Cheers!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Rob MacKillop here - I'm glad to have been a help! Any questions about that stuff, just ask.