The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 39 of 39

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by TruthHertz
    Guy, did you EVER hit the nail on the head. The situation seems to be that some people get really good with the kinesthetics, enough to really fill the time with activity. Sometimes it's a long time until the ear catches up. Many teachers and methods don't put that skill right up there with fingerings. It's not the same.
    Then there are those who have found their ear. Their integration of skills is something so natural that they take it for granted that others can do it too. Maybe they don't teach it as a separate skill either.

My early teachers gave me plenty of things to memorize. Learning to think like a singer, that came on my own later.
    Good point Guy.
    David
    I agree, Good point. About 3 years ago, I started studying with a damned good instructor. Great credentials. Berklee grad and studied with William Leavitt. As he was teaching me various fingerings of the M7, dom7, m7, m7b5 & dim7 arps and tensions . . he INSISTED that I say the interval out loud. I resisted, forgot didn't want to . . etc.. But, he wasn't taking no for an answer. I'm glad he was persistent. I learned to not only hear and anticipate the interval . . but understand it as well.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jonzo
    On a single string, every key is a different pattern. Across strings, you just move the same pattern.
    On a single string if you start with the same scale degree, then there is just one pattern.

one octave major pattern starting on root

---1--3---5---6----8---10---12---13------

one octave major pattern starting on 2nd degree

---1--3---4---6----8---10---11---13------

etc....

User Info Menu