The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

Hello everyone,

I am not a beginner guitar player but I am one when it comes to Jazz. I have played Classical and Blues and I know how to play a few jazz songs. I subscribed to the premium lessons on this site which I think are very good and have helped learn two great Jazz classics.

I heard a lot of good things about Mickey Baker and his books and I am going to take my time and work through each lesson. I am 40 and would like to something with my music and maybe get a trio together some day and play some clubs. I will let you know how I am progressing. If anybody has some suggestions on how to help me on my journey please feel free to reply. Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi Jazz6string,

Regarding the Mickey Baker Guitar Method, there are some very helpful threads on this forum. Also, I found this site to be invaluable: Mickey Baker Also, if you search YouTube, you will find some great stuff posted by members of this forum. I've just reached the half-way point with book 1. Good luck!

Joe

User Info Menu

I've done a few videos of Book 1 here: Mickey Baker Jazz Guitar | Rob MacKillop ~ Musician - hopefully they might be of use to you.

Quote Originally Posted by Rob MacKillop
    I've done a few videos of Book 1 here: Mickey Baker Jazz Guitar | Rob MacKillop ~ Musician - hopefully they might be of use to you.
    I subscribed to your channel on youtube.

I practice Mickey Baker for 2 hours a day then I work on my scales and then I play the songs I know and then work on new songs. I try to practice for 4 hours a day. If I can I will play for 6 hours.

I am working on Lesson 4 transposing to other keys. I am really enjoying the book and I wish I picked it up years ago.

User Info Menu

It may not be the best book on the subject..but thousands just like us have played through it and learned much from it..