The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 137

User Info Menu

Hey guys. I'm a jazz newbie but have been taking lessons from an instructor for about a year and a half focusing entirely on jazz. Prior to that, I played mostly traditional blues and occasional country or rock for about 20 years. With those styles all I needed to improvise the solo was to know the key the song was in. It was simple, as long as I knew that I just had a couple of scales in which I could play around with endlessly. Now jazz is a different animal, and a frustrating one. There are a few tunes I've learned where that process could be applied. But it seems a different approach is needed for most others. An understanding of each chord in a progression, it's arpeggios, and corresponding scales are pretty important. However, being able to instantly recall these things and to quickly know the 3rds and 7ths of every chord is proving to be very very hard for me. Are there any tricks or suggestions for how to do this? My mind simply doesn't compute this stuff quickly enough to be able to do anything. Like I said, I'm used to being able to fly around a given scale... as long as its the only scale I'm using. Not a separate one for every single chord.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Honestly, years and years of practice.

I have a good advice for you. Try to learn this stuff without guitar, just in your mind but with a pulse or metronome. after you know the notes just try to imagine your fretboard and than play them in time (still in your mind) the guidetones for example.

you can try this with a melody, a scale, etc.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by dallasblues
    With those styles all I needed to improvise the solo was to know the key the song was in. It was simple, as long as I knew that I just had a couple of scales in which I could play around with endlessly.