The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

Hey guys!

I am currently working through Jody Fishers Beggining Jazz Guitar book and I am at the page where you learn the C minor and major pentatonic scale fingerings. So a thought struck me, if I learn all these in C minor to the point were it's flawless and fast. Wouldnt it be very easy to transpose this all to B? I mean I just follow the same pattern as on C but I start it on B instead.

I am new to all this theory stuff but not to the guitar though, I relied on just on my ears to this point. And correct me if I'm wrong but scales are a tool to produce a certain style of music/emotion right?

New here by the way, I have been lurking here alot though.

Cheers guys!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by 1313

I am currently working through Jody Fishers Beggining Jazz Guitar book and I am at the page where you learn the C minor and major pentatonic scale fingerings. So a thought struck me, if I learn all these in C minor to the point were it's flawless and fast. Wouldnt it be very easy to transpose this all to B? I mean I just follow the same pattern as on C but I start it on B instead.
    Indeed.

I am new to all this theory stuff but not to the guitar though, I relied on just on my ears to this point. And correct me if I'm wrong but scales are a tool to produce a certain style of music/emotion right?
    Yes, I suppose a scale is there to give you a 'pool' of notes available for soloing, composing, creating melodies, etc in what we could call 'tonal music' (as opposed to atonal). That is not to say that they in-between notes are off-limits, its just you need to learn how and when to use them to good effect.