The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 81

User Info Menu

Hey there, I'm a beginner jazz guitarist. I've been interested in jazz guitar for years now and a couple months I decided to finally begin taking lessons and I've been doing weekly lessons since february or so.

The thing is that I feel like really discouraged because everytime I pick up the guitar for jazz I feel so damn lost. I'm working on Tune Up and right now I'm just play major scales over the different 2-5-1's and my playing sounds so boring and non musical that I almost don't feel like practicing.
    As for my teacher he gives me something different to practice every week but none of it seems to add up and give me a better understanding of doing what I really want to do which is improvise. I've learned 7 major scale shapes and a lot of arppegio shapes for maj,min,7th chords and remembering them isn't very hard but doing anything musical is and I spend so much time just playing around with them and trying to work them with the major scale to make something musical but I hardly can.
    I always hear people say to listen to alot of Jazz and learn by listening and picking up licks from recordings. My problem with this is that not only is the playing usually so complex/fast that I don't stand a chance to be able to pick it up by ear or play it but even if I can, the fingering and scales are so foreign to me that I don't understand the lick it all or how to apply it to my improvising all I can see is that it sounds good.

I know this post is rather disoriented since I'm pretty lost and confused learning jazz. I guess what I really want is some solid advice and tangible goals that I should work towards as a starting student in jazz. I hope this possibly gave you some context on which to base your advice.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu