The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Over the years I’ve had several teachers, bought many instruction books, dvd’s, cassettes, online courses, etc trying to learn more about my instrument. I’m a relative newcomer to jazz. It’s been daunting because it seems that most teachers or methods want me to learn scales, arpeggios (Yuck! Calisthenics. Get me off the bench and let’s play!) and advanced theory when all I needed was just to be shown a song and explained how it is put together.

So, my jazz instruction has been largely self-taught with Hal Leonard and Reader’s Digest real books. Finally, a couple months ago, something clicked and the II-V-I thing became abundantly clear to my thick head. It happened while I was figuring out Michael Franks’ “Down In Brazil”, unavailable in my real books, fake books, chordie, wiki, yada, yada.....

I’d like to share my insight with you in the hopes it may help you get that "click" as well.

“Down In Brazil” is a simple Bossa Nova tune. What’s remarkable about it is that, except for the intro and outro, it is nothing but II-V-I, going through the octave until it simply repeats. Wow! I can play a song and know what the intervals are! I can see and hear the II-V-I relationship all over the neck! It’s fun! It required no memorization of scales, and, truth be told, you can even enjoy it without knowing it’s II-V-I at all.

Directions for playing:

The number in parentheses is the fret that your index finger should be on. At least to start. There are two basic fingerings for each of the 3 chords. The first, for the Bmaj7 is x788x7 from 1st to 6th strings. The Bm7 is 7777x7. E7 is 797977. Proceed down the neck.

For the Fmaj7, slide up to the 8th fret and use what I call the “Misty” maj7 form:
    8 10 9 10 8 8
    Fm7 is 8 9 8 10 8 8
    Bb7 is 667686 Proceed down the neck.

Slide up to the Gb7
    9 11 9 11 9 9

Then back to Bmaj7 for verse II.

Timing: