The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hi, I am a blues guitarist and starting with Jazz now. I trying to put a practice plan together for someone that can play guitar but is new to JAZZ. I have 2 hours a day to practice. Would like your views on what to practice and for how long? I want to get the balance right from the start.

sections of the plan...

Technique (left/right hand exercises)
    Repertiore (standards ?)
    Transcribing (licks and lines)
    Knowledge (chord theory etc.)
    Improvisation (recording rhythm tracks and jamming over incorporating new licks etc.)

What did I leave out?
    is the Mickey Baker's Complete Course in Jazz Guitar... a good place to start?

Thanks.
    Jono

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

What a big question. I'll put up my thoughts and there will be loads of other suggestions here.

I've been working out of MB's book for a while now and it works well. Best tip is to not try to race through it. When he says you must completely understand something before moving on, he freakin' means it.

On top of that, I would take a look at the five shapes/fingerings from Jimmy Bruno. Play them in each key every day (since you have the time). Try mixing up the intervals (thirds, fourths, etc) and doing coils (1,2,1,2,3,2,3,4,3, etc) of 2, 3, and 4 notes. I've been doing this (one key at a time since I don't have as much time as you) for a while and went from no soloing ability to a moderate ability.

The above is supposed to replace modal scale theory. There are arguments for learning modes, but for a beginner, the five shapes/fingerings is almost as easy as the CAGED system is on western guitar.