The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I still have this problem with blues as well. My improvising sounds too scalish. What can I practice to lose this, especially with respect to jazz guitar, which I'm new to this game. Please tell me if some of you had to overcome this as well.

Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by bachplay6
    I still have this problem with blues as well. My improvising sounds too scalish. What can I practice to lose this, especially with respect to jazz guitar, which I'm new to this game. Please tell me if some of you had to overcome this as well.

Thanks
    I got this simple little exercise from Mick Goodrick. Stay on one string in position and play only chord tones, yes sometimes you will have only one note. Then add a string until you've covered all six strings.

Next add an approach from half step below. After that a scale tone above to the chord tone, and yes there will be an occasional choice to be made. Finally approach the chord tones by enclosure scale tone above, 1/2 step below and finally landing on the chord tone.

User Info Menu

Start learning melodies and use them to base your improv on.

User Info Menu

thanks Billnc. I will try this. I feel like my playing can be compared to a 1st grader saying his ABC's instead of making intelligent sentences.

User Info Menu

If I ask you the question, "how are you addressing the chord changes?" what is your answer?

User Info Menu