The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I am a beginner Jazz guitarist and I need some direction and Instruction.Currently can't read sheet music but rely on tAB.
    Looks like ton of you like Mikey Baker book...but anything else I should consider?
    Thank you

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I really liked her "Jazz Anatomy" 2-disc instructional project. Lots of great ideas, very accessible, very well thought out. Highly recommended!

Amazon.com: Jazz Anatomy: 2-DVD Set: Mimi Fox, True Fire: Movies & TV

User Info Menu

true fire has a beginners course and a course about modes, others about theory etc. you may want to try some of those before you tackle her courses, which are excellent.

I haven't tried the video course but I'm in one of her classes at the Jazz School in Berkeley, Ca. She's a pretty good teacher and explains things pretty thoroughly in person, and I'm sure that her video courses are no different, as long as your rewind button works well. You'll need to have a pretty good understanding of Theory, though. If you don't, than use your money to get some theory lessons! Also, get away from that TAB! If you could imagine what your spoken vocabulary would be like if you couldn't read English, not reading music limits you in a similar way. Not having it and only relying on your ears and TAB really puts a cap on how much that you can know. I only know because I stayed in the dark and worked way harder than I needed to for far too many years. My world has opened up since I've learned to read!

User Info Menu