The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 34

User Info Menu

What do you do when you like many different genres of music and can play most of them to the level of being able to go out and earn money doing them, but can't seem to pick one to really concentrate on? I seem to want to play whatever I happen to be listening to at the time but then I get a "oh, look....a squirrel" moment and go a different direction. I've been playing for 64 years, 54 of them for pay: country, jazz, classic rock, theater pit, Celtic, Chet Atkins/Merle Travis, bluegrass/Doc Watson - whatever I've been hired to do. Nowadays, as it's winding down (I'll be 79 in a couple weeks), I find it impossible to play for my own enjoyment; recently bought a nice Ibanez GB10 to work on chord melody and have barely touched it. A few years ago, I had a custom Brook acoustic made in England to explore Celtic and more modern fingerstyle and it sits unplayed. I still like these types of music but spend all my time watching You Tube videos. Nobody in my area to play with - it's sort of a musical black hole around here so I have to rely on Band In A Box. Just in kind of a rut, I guess.

End of vent....thanks for listening

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I find myself doing what comes along. Some projects end up being brief others can and have lasted years.

User Info Menu

You really don't want us to psychoanalyze you, do you?

Or maybe Yoga guru: "Look within you, the answer you seek is there."

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mick-7 View Post
    you really don't want us to psychoanalyze you, do you?

Or maybe yoda guru: "within you look, there the answer you seek is."
    fify

User Info Menu

I like to play a lot of stuff as well.