The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

I have been shaving for easily 55 years. I am a lazy shaver, usually replacing the blade after its time.

I am still struck, as if anew, after all this time, by how much easier it is to shave with a fresh blade. Hmmmm... maybe I should replace the blade more often.... hmmmm.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Switch to straight razors and you can have a new blade every day. A few strokes on the hone or strop and voila! new blade!

User Info Menu

Having had a beard for most of the last 40 years, I am not the one to ask about shaving details. Though I do shave my neck almost daily.

I have a Gillette Fusion that vibrates, and I replace the blades when I notice it irritating my neck. Those things last forever. Good thing, cause each blade is several bucks.

I have a buddy who collects vintage shavers and brushes. He probably has a hundred or so. He is OBSESSIVE about shaving. Ironic, since he has a beard as well.

My grandfather was a barber. His shop was old-school. He did a hot shave on most customers. There was a shoe-shine guy there. His shop just across the border from Chattanooga in GA was very cool and still used as a barbershop until recently (though he passed away in the 60s).

User Info Menu

I tried a straight razor, because I loved the idea of it. Had a strop hanging from the bathroom doorknob, the whole thing (antique razor, modern strop). Also had couple of very cool "safety" Rolls Razors, with the strop and sharpening stone built into the case. Those worked very well; but I got tired of nicks and scratches. I have a great deal of admiration for those who can always shave with a straight razor without resulting in blood; but it's the modern replaceable-blade razor for me. And if you use the blade for 2 or more weeks, it is cheaper. But then I get the revelation with the new blade...