The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

My day job is increasingly grating on me and more and more I'm considering trying to do something with music. I'm not so naive as to believe I could make a living playing, but it seems that teaching can be a pretty stable way to get by.

However, I have no idea how to go about doing it. I've been playing guitar for 14 years, have played in a ton of bands of various styles, have a good grasp of theory, I even took some theory and performance classes in undergrad. I also really enjoy teaching and mentoring, and I have some experience doing it at my day job. The problem is my degree is in engineering and I have no formal qualifications in music. I'm not sure how I could sell a resume in what I imagine is a decently competitive market.

So my question is, especially for those who don't have a music degree and teach, how did you start? Are there qualifications other than a 4 year degree that could help get my foot in the door? (Preferably something I could pursue while working full time). Should I just go to the nearest guitar center and see if they'll take me? Lol

Also for those who teach, is that your main gig, and do you find it stable? Really just trying to explore options at this point.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Classroom teach or private lessons?

User Info Menu

Go to the local music store and see if they need a teacher. Show them you're competent and can play stuff in Mel Bay Book 1. You'll mostly be teaching kids, so the bar is low.

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    Classroom teach or private lessons?
    Private lessons. I assume a classroom position would require a teaching qualification. I don't have one and don't know that it's feasible for me to go back to school for 4 years to get one lol.

User Info Menu