The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Can someone with experience with the Japanese jazz scene recommend jazz clubs in Japan (Osaka area preferred, but Tokyo/Yokohama venues also appreciated)? I'd like to find some affordable hangouts that feature traditional styles of jazz.

Japan enjoys a reputation for its vibrant jazz community, but I moved here this year, so I'm still learning my way around. Also, I prefer jazz clubs that focus more on traditional jazz, gypsy jazz, or big band, as opposed to funk, j-pop fusion, etc.

Any advice is appreciated.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi there,
    My wife is Japanese, so I remember going to a couple of small but really nice Jazz Clubs in Kyoto (sorry, I don't remember the names!) in the early 90's. I've also been to the famous Pitt Inn and Blue Note in Tokyo. I also remember a nice Jazz Club in Yokohama (don't remember the name, either). Overall I remember the level of Japanese Jazzers as being very high... I mean: great musicianship! In the year 2004, Jazz guitarist Akio Sasajima&family spent the Summer in Italy in the same building where I live... I've been in touch with him until a couple of years ago and I know he owns a jazz-club in Sapporo, called "The Living Room" (if my memory is correct).

So, you moved to Japan... whre from?

User Info Menu

I visited a place in Kyoto last month called Zac Baran. I'll be in Sapporo in late August, so I'll be sure to look up your friend's place.

I'll be in Tokyo at the beginning of August, so I'd still like to find a scene to check out there as well.

I moved here in April from Los Angeles.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

User Info Menu