The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 40

User Info Menu

hi everyone,

been a little while since ive been on the forum. i need some personal advice. yeah, i could go to a therapist, but i want to talk to my fellow musicians (besides, therapy has only been so helpful). im 36 years old, single, no wife or kids (responsibilities).

i've been playing guitar since i was 12 (1999). i think around the age of 13, i remember thinking 'i can do this', as in, 'i can do this professionally.'

by the time i graduated high school, i was outplaying my teachers...but, were they really even good? maybe not by todays standards. but i do know, that at least three or four high school teachers told me i should study music. i also had a chemistry teacher introduce me to pat metheny which really changed everything.

as an example of my ability around that time, here is a guitar solo i wrote on top of some very weird chords, in a weird tuning i came up with. this was something i recorded when i was 17, in 2005.

i think by today's standards, it may not be very good technically. but keep in mind this was before the age of youtube viral videos or all the ubiquitous music learning there is now. it was also all based off my ear knowledge - i knew 0 (absolutely 0) music theory at that time. if i had to analyze those chords now under, i probably could, but may be a waste of time.

anyway, after i graduated high school in 2005, i had a lot of pressure from my family to study medicine - like insane. and (maybe) the problem was, i was very good academically. i had a deep identity crisis that never really resolved. i would be in classes constantly thinking of music. i couldn't focus. eventually (its a long story), i went into psychology. things were not good at home. my father had passed a year before. i was a wreck emotionally, mentally, physically, and spiritually.