The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 107

User Info Menu

First, if you dont believe in talent, please save that for another thread or start your own. I know it's been debated, but I'm of the belief that there is, so please proceed accordingly.

I'm a former golf professional and always had an aptitude for sports/recreation. I gave golf lessons for almost 10 years and taught many folks varying degrees of ability. I always admired the folks who really didn't have any ability and who's potential was not that great. They seemed very much to enjoy it still and more than many "good" players.

Anyway, I have a creative/artistic side that I believe I got from my Mom, but isn't as strong as my athletic side for lack of a better word. Musically, our family has no real history of it other than popular music appreciators/listeners. I would say my "ear" or appreciation for music has been higher than most of my friends and family that I grew up with, but I wouldn't consider that a "talent" so to speak. So, in trying to learn to play anything close to Jazz, I understood early that at best I might be able to eventually physically perform a few things with a lot of practice because I had decent eye hand coordination, but that I was never going to understand it on any real kind of level. Just in the shower this morning I was listening to Miles play "On Green Dolphin Street" live and I realized that while I like it a lot, I really dont understand what's going on. The flurry of notes at times during the song I know are musical, but I cant follow them, etc.

Soooooooo, why am I even attempting to play/do something that I suck at and will never "understand" or be anything other than at BEST be someone who can reproduce (shittily) what someone else has played? For me, it's a few reasons, but I'd like to hear from others who are similar and hear about their "why's" and "how's". Maybe I wont feel so alone, haha!