The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 65 of 65

User Info Menu

There are negative aspects to some forms of obsession. I don't THINK I've had those. I live life and partake in my family and do vacations and have other interests. I've just always been organized. I've treated it like a job. I booked my time. I punched the clock. I figured and assumed it was my responsibility. I figured being a musician was a big deal. I never had a lot of respect for those guys who play around and live loose. Guys who play and do drugs, womanize and lived like life was a constant party because "I'm a musician." I thought of being a musician as meaning you respected yourself and worked hard even when many in society didn't.

So I worked hard to feel good about MYSELF. Less to prove anything to anyone else. But of course, there's that too.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Obsession is part of art if we consider it as spritual tool...

that's why I talked about choices...

choosing is very human.

you can choose to do this or that... but you cannot choose obsessions.. it's those who obsess - they choose you

But as Ingmar Bergan said: I am obsessed with plenty of demons but I learnt to make them work for my benifit...

User Info Menu

Maybe obsession, addiction, endorphin possession all have a role in why we do things, how we willingly come to change our routines to favour activities that give us a rush. Maybe that's why watching music on YouTube clips can be a ready surrogate for the feeling of being in the driver's seat. Or maybe many people don't connect those scales with anything that actually gives a feeling of joy.