The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to jazz guitar, but I've been playing classical guitar for 15 years. Which is to say, I'm no stranger to reading standard notation!

I notice most of the examples on this website and others are given in both tab and standard notation.

I'm sure the answer is "it depends" and "it's a personal choice" but which one do you find yourself using more? Do you use one style notation for learning and another for playing? Is one your "main" one, and the other just "informational"? Is there one that you completely ?

Just curious how people approach it, as I'm getting my feet wet in "Autumn Leaves", I find myself bouncing back and forth between the two, which makes my brain hurt!

-evan

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Nevermind, as I figured, this has been discussed to death! How frowned upon is using guitar tablature?

User Info Menu

Tab can be helpful when you want to know exactly how something was fingered. Sometimes, it's really not obvious from standard notation. So, it has some value. Even when somebody writes in string, fret and finger onto standard notation, tab can be easier to deal with. That's much more likely to happen in genres other than jazz. In fact, it almost never comes up in the world of jazz guitar, IME.

So, for the most part standard notation is the way to go.

User Info Menu