The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

On the third measure of Stars Fell on Alabama in the key of C there's C and on the fourth measure there's Em7. I've found one fake book that doesn't connect those, the New Orleans Jam Book:

Passing chord C --> Em7-new-orleans-jam-book-jpg

Then I've found two fake books that connect them. Sher Music's New Real Book 3 has a Dm7:

Passing chord C --> Em7-sher-music-new-real-book-3-jpg

Hal Leonard's Real Book 3 has an F:

Passing chord C --> Em7-hal-leonard-real-book-3-jpg

I think D7 is a good choice, but I'm just a confused student.

I would like to know what you'd be inclined to use and why

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Dmin and Fmaj are diatonic passing chords. D7 is a backdoor, sort of like a secondary dominant. They are all good theoretical options as long as they sound good with the melody. There are even more options. But the goal to me is not to decide on "one" passing chord approach per situation but to work on variety in my harmonic vocabulary.
    Last edited by Tal_175; 04-12-2024 at 07:16 AM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by alez View Post
    On the third measure of Stars Fell on Alabama in the key of C there's C and on the fourth measure there's Em7. I've found one fake book that doesn't connect those, the New Orleans Jam Book
    Then I've found two fake books that connect them. Sher Music's New Real Book 3 has a Dm7:
    it does not matter. even if connecting chords are not notated, many will play/comp/improvise on them. jazz is full of hidden changes. works the other way around as well. even if connecting chords are notated, players might not choose to play them, or play different chords. one might play Em A7 Dm G7. another guy might play Em Ebm Dm. Or Em Ebdim Dm etc. all this can and will happen simultaneously.