The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 56

User Info Menu

Yes, I'm a newb to music theory and jazz guitar all together. Could someone explain (in basic terms) the difference between a major chord and major 7th chord? What do each look like on a chord chart? Thank you.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

hi
    a C chord on a chord chart
    is C
    (notes C E G)

Cmajor 7th on a chord chart
    is Cmaj7 or Ctriangle7
    (notes CEGB)

hope that’s clear enough

User Info Menu

And a C7 is C-E-G-B flat

And Cm7 is C-E flat-G-B flat

Too much?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jumpnblues
    Yes, I'm a newb to music theory and jazz guitar all together. Could someone explain (in basic terms) the difference between a major chord and major 7th chord? What do each look like on a chord chart? Thank you.
    Please don't get me wrong but I'm a little surprised that you are asking this question in that you have been around here for over 5 years?!

User Info Menu

There's no bad time to ask good questions.

A basic Major chord is referred to as a triad, as it has three notes, the Root, 3rd and 5th (R35)

Here's the C Major scale:

C D E F G A B

So, a C Major Chord (R35) has the notes C E G

A Major 7 chord adds one more note to the basic triad, the 7th note of the scale, which is the note B:

C E G B

Now, that's the theory, but practice can be slightly different (hey, it's jazz!).

Sometimes when asked to play a C Major chord, a jazz musician might automatically play a CMaj7 chord. That's because a straight C Major chord lacks what is referred to as a "colour tone". Colour tones are notes added to the basic triad from the scale, such as the B. They can make a chord sound more interesting, and help to define jazz in some way.

Here's another example. Imagine we don't add a B to the basic triad, but opt to add an A instead:

Basic Triad: C E G