The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

I’m a pretty okay guitarist and I’m trying to get better. I feel like I really rely on a few chord shapes but I’m struggling to figure out any of this stuff. I can listen to the songs all day but I can’t really pick out tons of the chords because I don’t know the shapes. So I recognize what chord it would be in the progression, but struggle about position, extensions, etc.

I am not really sure where to go to expand upon this and it’s super niche. Should I buy a chord book like the Baker book, or even the Arpeggio and Scales Books by Latarski and just learn a million shapes?

here’s some videos of me playing:

as you can possibly hear I have the idea of it and in the more Chicago based stuff I do I feel pretty comfortable as I’ve learned a lot of the stuff and can pick it out. But I want to go from “sounds close enough” to actually doing some of it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I listened to the original of the Little Walter tune and it is the recording of a full group with drum and double bass. It seems like you in your one-man-band constellation are only trying to imitate the guitar part so there is a lot missing from the groove.

I would learn basic guitar shell chords first: For dominant seventh chords either root note on low E string, seventh on D string and third on G string (e.g. F7 1x12xx, Bb7 6x67xx) or root on A string, third on D string and seventh on G string (e.g. C7 x323xx). Now alternate between the root and the third/seventh double stop imitating the whole of the band groove especially the drums. (There is a minor IV chord in there as well, you can use a Bbmin6 voicing for that: 6x56xx.)