The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I'm fairly new to the jazz GUITAR world,and i'm getting acquainted with reading charts; namely the aebersold's autumn leaves one, where i found this symbol over a bar (i.e.; EbΔ+4).
    Now, in the aebersold "NOMENCLATURE" sheet it says that Δ+4 can mean also:

Cmaj+4, CM+4, CΔ+11,CΔb5 and Cmajb5

I found all of this over confusing,and any help would be appreciated,since the symbolism can be pretty confusing fpr a novice like me. I'm not really devoid of music theory,but please be clement in your explanation.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

it means the chord made up of the pitches

Eb, G, A, D

A good place to start is to find voicings with the A as the highest pitch, once your ear hears that, you'll "know" the sound.

People often refer to this as a "lydian" sound: if you look up what lydian means you'll get the reference

User Info Menu

PS technical things you might want to ignore:

The triangle is synonymous with "Maj". The "+" is used as shorthand for "#" in this context, which is confusing, since it sometimes is shorthand for "Augmented" which means use a #5. Also: 4=11, so #4=#11.

Furthermore, don't be surprised if this thread migrates to a discussion about whether #4 and b5 means the same thing. In some contexts it is useful to distinguish them, but for simple tunes there is no need to distinguish them since a chord voiced with a #4 and a 5 tends to sound a bit weird if that's not what you are going for.

User Info Menu

EbMa7#11

the triangle is short hand

So in my reference chord book (Al Di Meola's A Guide to Chords Scales Arpeggios) that would be an Eb7M(b5). And if i'm not mistaken a diminished 5th is the same as an augmented 4th, as they are enarmonic; is that correct?