The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

Hi

Whats the function of this chord in the context of the harmonized major scale? I can't figure it out.

It is the ninth chord in mickey bakers book

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by craft
    Hi

Whats the function of this chord in the context of the harmonized major scale? I can't figure it out.

It is the ninth chord in mickey bakers book

Hi, it resolves down a half step to the A minor in the book (and up as well). EDIT, on second read it seems you get that but want it's function. It is the equivalent to Bbdim6. To my ear the b9 (Bb) can resolve up or down to the next root.

C# (e) G Bb F#
    A13b9=Bbdim6
    Last edited by vintagelove; 04-26-2015 at 07:01 PM.

Oh i see. Thank you very much. Sorry for the total beginner post ;_;

Just trying to wrap my head around the baker chords and see whats their function in the key (tonic, leading tone.. etc.)

Can we say that this chord is borrowed from another key?

User Info Menu

All due respect to Mr. Baker but I do not agree that the chord should be labeled A13(b9). This harmony has a passing (chromatic) diminished seventh function as Vintagelove says, not a dominant function. I would call this a Bbdim7 with a non-harmonic tone (F#) in the melody.

My favorite example of this harmony occurs in Jobim's "Corcovado".
    function of A13b9 in G major-corcovado-jpg

The second harmony is Abdim7 with a non-harmonic tone (E) in the melody. The chord tone is the D that follows, not the E. We would not label this harmony G13(b9).

In your example, substitute the note E for the F# and you will hear the diminished seventh chord and its passing function. Don't just take my word for it, Joe Pass mentions this somewhere in one of his instructional videos also.

John
    John Hall | Music for Guitar | Home

User Info Menu