The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

Hi Everyone,

I am a beginning jazz guitarist. I have taken 4 or 5 lessons, but find I don't really have enough time to get to the teacher. Plus, I tend to work well with a self-study approach. I know a few variations of the major chord types (7th, 9th, Maj7th, Min7th), and am trying to find a good course or book/CD combination to help me improve my comping skills in various styles and rhythms. Could someone recommend something for this purpose to me? For example, has anyone here worked through Jamie Holroyd's "30 Days to Better Jazz Guitar Comping"? What about Mark Boling's "Creative Comping Concepts for Jazz Guitar" or Andrew Green's Jazz Guitar Comping book? Ideally I would pick one book/course and stick with it all the way through . Any recommendations you could provide would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Guitar Comping by Barry Galbraith

User Info Menu

Check out Fareed Haque's comping video on True Fire. I found it very useful.

User Info Menu

Carlton Johnson has an excellent book on 4 to the bar comping that you can find at amazon.com

that plus the two recommendations above should help you build a very solid foundation. I have all three plus the Andrew green book. (Shit I have evey book)

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

this is a good prep for the above (although not absolutely necessary):

http://www.jazzbooks.com/mm5/merchan...oduct_Code=EJG

These look like exactly what I need - thank you, everyone!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by bharris22
    These look like exactly what I need - thank you, everyone!
    Careful with some of those recommendation. They're all reasonably challenging.

One great way to start is with a Jim Furguson book called All Blues For Jazz Guitar.

Although he uses a blues form to teach, all the concepts taught are applicable to any tune.