The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hi there and welcome (me) to the forum

I just had my first jazz guitar lesson this morning. I've been playing guitar for over 20 years, but have only fairly recently started moving into jazz.

My teacher said "we just always the chords out", so if it says Dm, we play Dm11; D7 goes to D9 or D13, etc.

I'd like to know some more about this - I understand what the chords are (e.g. how to make a 13), but what can you tell me about whether (and when) I should extend chords above what it says on the chart?

He also said he always plays a maj7 where it asks for a 6, which seems a bit more odd to me. We played through an example where it sounded fine with the maj7, but I'm not sure about the guideline on that.

Thanks very much!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

As you might have been able to guess, it all depends on context. The extensions that you can add all have to do with the scale or key you're trying to imply or outline. So if you have a ii-V-I in CMaj, your ii chord can be a Dm7... or a Dm6, or a Dm6/9 or a Dm9, or a Dm11, etc, etc because all of those tensions and upper structures are implied because it sounds like a ii chord.

For CMaj7 vs C6, just think about them as a major sounding chord, which gives you the qualities 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9..... So if you see a C6 chord, you're usually safe to assume that it has those qualities (and it sometimes has a #11 too, if it's Lydian sounding).

The G7 can go in a lot of directions, though. I don't know how much you know about alterations, but there are a lot of upper structures that you could use for a dominant chord that imply all sorts of different things.