The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I'm relatively new to jazz. What is the most efficient way to build a large, useful chord vocab?

I can either open my copy of Chord Chemistry or Joe Pass' Chords book and memorize away, then only afterwards work out how to actually use them appropriately by piecing them together in progressions and seeing which chords work together (Joe Pass' book gives you the alterations/tensions/subs he played which should prove very useful in this approach).

Alternatively I can open my Fake book and start pumping out more chord melody arrangements and build my chord vocab by working out my own chords and learning how to use the chords appropriately by default, then move them around in different positions around the neck. The latter approach is responsible for my present vocab.

Lastly, I could just transcribe chord melody arrangements by ear and forget the books altogether (even if I pursue one of the other two methods I still transcribe anyway).

Thanks,

Dave

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu