The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 34
    Nuff Said Guest
    I've been playing for over 30 years, but even after all this time when I'm playing with someone who plays lots of complex/ambiguous chord voicings my ears get confused and I find it difficult to really relax and play at my best.

I prefer to solo over simpler voicings containing roots, 3rds, 7ths and any extensions, maybe I need some new ears.

Nuff

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Just remember that all of those ambiguous chords have some of those friendly tones that you are used to hearing, in there.

Are you referring to diatonic chords built from Major or HM & MM? Or more abstract slash chords or stacked 4ths?

Knowing where they came from and how they were built is the beginning of understanding their sound and playing against them. You know that.

Nuff Said Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by brwnhornet59
    Just remember that all of those ambiguous chords have some of those friendly tones that you are used to hearing, in there.

Are you referring to diatonic chords built from Major or HM & MM? Or more abstract slash chords or stacked 4ths?

Knowing where they came from and how they were built is the beginning of understanding their sound and playing against them. You know that.

I'm failing to hear what the other player(s) is doing at that moment in time, no set piece, not from a sheet.

Nuff

User Info Menu

Have you stopped, asked and analyzed? Or is this during a gig? Perhaps getting with the individual in a one on one for a few might help you dial in his harmonic motifs.

Also, is the other person randomly choosing these chords or are they following one of the many harmonic recipes of jazz?
    Last edited by brwnhornet59; 02-28-2012 at 10:07 AM.

Nuff Said Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by brwnhornet59